My God..My Family

Making a family work isn’t like an episode of the Cosby show, where you face a problem that you laugh through and then solve within 30 minutes. The beauty of family isn’t in the highs but rather in the lows…The moments when you feel like you’re alone, tears stream down your face, your heart begins to spasm from the hurt and in a moment you feel a familiar embrace enclose you with love. It doesn’t remove the ache or the memory of the hurt, but if you’ve ever been alone in a crowded place, there is comfort in seeing a familiar face. Family is most effective, when their support serve as a flicker of light in a dark place.

Most of the time when people have issues with their families, it’s not just because they didn’t experience afternoon walks, or laughs over the fire at night…Division in most relationships come when a person feels isolated. “You weren’t there when I needed you” translates to when I needed the comfort of a smile, the warmth of an embrace, I looked to my left and then to my right, and I was alone. Isolation teaches you that you can only depend on yourself, that the next time you are cold that you will find a blanket or you will survive through the shiver until its warm again. Family is huddling together to create warmth, when you’re cold I will share the warmth of love until the freeze of life passes over you.

In my opinion, family is the closest one can get to understanding God’s love for us. To understanding that no matter what trouble may come you are never alone. God is constantly with you, even in the midst of trouble. It should come as no surprise that families are under attack. The closer I am to my family, the more I understand God. My responsibility to him, and his promise to me.

As I begin my own family, and strive to teach my children the importance of love and support I cannot help but realize that it first begins with my marriage. Marriage is hard for many reasons but one of the most evident obstacles is being vulnerable enough to let someone 1.) see your dark places 2.) trusting that, that person can provide a flicker of hope or at least the comfort of company. This task is even harder for someone who never experienced that support throughout their childhood, because they’ve never had to let someone see their scars…To see behind the walls that life teaches us to build. Even if you have felt that comfort in youth, you may marry someone who shows comfort in a way you aren’t familiar with. Our challenge when being in the dark place of our lover’s heart, is to feel our way through with them, making sure our love is pure enough to not cause an infection.

My prayer is that my love for Robert will be pure enough that it heals the broken places, builds irrefutable trust, and undeniable happiness that spills into the hallways of our home wraps around our children and teaches them that life is can be both bitter and sweet but it is worth the ride.. God let my children know your love, let me be a vessel that only gives them a preview of what your love can do for them . Let that love start with my marriage, teach me to be humble..to not let society dictate my love. I want to love from a pure place. A place that doesn’t dwell in hurt or secrets, in past or pain. God help me to realize that no one is perfect not even me, and that pure love and kindness can cure the darkest of hearts. I don’t want to be bitter, keeping a list of all the wrongs ever done to me. I do not want history to handcuff my love.

Comments

  1. I am a new fan of your Sarah and I just can’t explain how your words are touching my heart. I have been married for 10 years now with two wonderful children and many of the things I go through you have discussed. Thank you for allowing the Lord to speak through you.

  2. This has been my favorite post so far, Sarah! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on life & family with the world. I am also a wife and mother and can relate to everything that you’ve said. May God continue to bless you in your marriage and family life for years to come. Cheers to the young/ married/mommy life!

    • I think this is my favorite one so far too. I really love it, it came from my heart. I love my family and I am excited to start that same kind of environment with my honey and our kiddos.

  3. Lovely and Beautiful!

  4. BettyCHR. says:

    I’m so glad I read this as a young girl still waiting for the man God has for me to come around. Very inspiring.. More more more . Hehehe 🙂

  5. LatoyaTolbert says:

    Simply Beautiful! We let our marraiges be shielded with the love of God. It’s seems the enemies attack on families are getting stronger by the day. Thanks for sharing these heart felt words. Truly and encouragement to know we married people are not alone.

  6. ifedamolaBola says:

    Wow!!! This is wonderful. Its lovely and touching yet filled with so much truths. Nice One

  7. Great post. Well written and oh so true!

  8. I too am a young married woman, and I know all to well how hard it is. I loved this post, it is one of the best I’ve read in a while because it hits home and I can definitely relate. Job well done, I look forward to reading more! God Bless!

  9. ShenikaJ says:

    Through This Short Story, It Taught Me A Lot. I Love This Post, You’re A Very Wise Woman. I’ll Be Looking Forward To More Of Your Posts , So Keep’em Coming! lol This Is Good!! 🙂

  10. This makes me reflect on, when I stand before God alone what If He says to me “the man you chose or I sent you, you showed respect and honor to him by keeping my words in your heart. You did not choose to cut him down, but when you did, you remembered ME. Well done, my faithful servant.” Wow! Marriage isn’t easy but I have to know that when my husband messes up I have to know that Christ is standing next to him for as long as he is seeking Gods face he is being worked on. I need to continue to work on myself and my flaws so I can bring glory to God through my marriage as well.
    As a wife I need to pray to the Lord to show me what kind of wife I need to be for my husband and a mother to my children each day.
    Thanks for this.

  11. Great post, I LOVE this statement about marriage; “This task is even harder for someone who never experienced that support throughout their childhood, because they’ve never had to let someone see their scars…To see behind the walls that life teaches us to build. Even if you have felt that comfort in youth, you may marry someone who shows comfort in a way you aren’t familiar with. Our challenge when being in the dark place of our lover’s heart, is to feel our way through with them, making sure our love is pure enough to not cause an infection.”
    Love love love that. It moved me the most to at the end too. Thank you.

  12. Karry Brown says:

    The words you have so creatively expressed are true love for a family. To be able to eloquently express this love means you have received this love growing up. AWESOME!!

  13. Darian Yancey-Mackey says:

    Sarah, this was REALLY good…and i’ll leave it at that!!!! 😉

  14. Anneisha says:

    Wonderful….this was beautiful. As a woman entering into the beginning stage of marriage and hopefully our own family this was so encouraging. Thank you.

  15. Minister M says:

    What a wonderful expression of love in God and family. Yes!! ‘Lil sis, stay in love with God. He teachs us how to love on every level even in hard places and in the process we learn to build strong godly loving families.

  16. Amazing

  17. Absolutely beautiful! “A love…that spills into the hallways of our home, wraps around our children and teaches them that life can be both bitter and sweet..” Took my breath away! At the end of the day, its about our families! Thank you for sharing! #celebratingyoungmarriage!

  18. Mrs. Bruce says:

    Beautifully worded, my friend. Very wise, well beyond your years. We all should take heed to these words.

  19. Sarah, this is simply beautiful. I, too, believe that isolation is a tool the enemy uses most often in our lives 2 make us feel that we are all alone, or no one else has ever dealt with our particular issue. The warmth of family definitely begins with the 2 who have decided to lock arms and build a lofe around the foundation of their promise. It’s extremely difficult because we are encouraged to not be too vulnerable to anyone, but exhibiting vulnerability, to our mates and God, is where the most effective work is done! Thank u for sharing!

What Did You Think??

