Thank You Note for Those I Love Most…

Are there any words that sum up what this time home has done for me? When I came home I was hungry… I had not found a church home in Virginia and I was starving for the comfort of a warm embrace and whisper of encouragement. For so long Robert and I had gotten so accustomed to just having one another that it started to feel like we were on an island. I didn’t realize it until my flight landed that I was home sick. I had missed the Sunday dinners that last for hours and hours. Missed watching marathons of my favorite show with my sister, missed sitting with my mom in our favorite chairs while we giggled and snickered…I missed my dad telling me over and over how much potential I have to do whatever my heart desired. I missed my little brother’s hugs, my brother Jamar’s hilarious assessments of situations, missed Jermaine’s eternal optimism for life. I missed my family. Missed my friends… I missed seeing people who could look at me and instantly know if I was contemplative, excited, tired, mad, lonely…I have a big family, each of us are very close knit.

And then I went to church, and I realized I was starving for a Word from God. And when my dad took the microphone and spoke a word that pierced to the core of my soul, it felt like I had been placed on life support. Each Sunday I would go and receive my help and Monday-Saturday I was able to borrow the strength of my family, borrow their laughter, cry on their shoulder, lay in their lap. I had been away so long I had forgotten that I am never facing anything alone. This blog is for them…a thank you for letting me borrow their strength, for nursing my heart back to health.

Dad…Where would I be without your sage wisdom? Interesting metaphors lol, life lessons and constant push to soar my wings? You let me know that there is no dream, that’s too big. Anything I want is within reach…You are the source of my ambition. It is through your work, through your ministry that I have always found my way back to Christ. I thank you for not just being my dad but being my Shepard, never letting me stray too far away from Him.

Mom…There is not a person in the world who’s love is purer than yours. You filtered all of the pain out of my heart and replaced it with a love so strong I feel invincible. Your love has produced the best parts of me. I pray each day that my children could one-day love me the way I love you. I have never felt as comforted and supported as I do when I am in your arms.

Jamar ~ In another life you and I were twins. You are the most loyal person I know. Your humor can make the most serious person smile. You are more rare than you know. You are genuinely a good person. I love when we concoct a plan to bring the “kids” together or to help mom and dad so they can rest. You are all of our “stepdad”

Maine ~ There should be some type of law that prohibits us from being together!! All we do is clown, I mean seriously you play too much. You are one of the most generous people I know. If I ever needed anything I know that I can count on you. Your so consistently you…I love feeling like I have a part in you becoming the you, you want to be.

Cokey ~ I never have to worry about what my plans are for the evening or who I can hang with. You and I have always had each other, held each other down and fought anyone who came against us. Some of the talks you and I had in my car would probably be incriminating…. Love those secrets that we take to the grave. I can’t believe you are someone’s wife and soon to be someone’s mommy! I feel privileged to be apart of your special day…. No one deserves for their dream to come true like you do.

Dexter ~ Do you know you give the best hugs? You’re my little big brother…. Always protecting and loving me. You are so talented, so gifted. Above all, you are most charming. I can’t help but smile when I think of you and your sense of humor. We can look across the table at each other and instantly know what the other is thinking. Sit around and laugh at random things all night. I love that about us.

Chrissy ~ You are probably the coolest mom I know. Yo have done such an amazing job with those 2 people. I love how willing you are to do whatever with me, just so I can get out of the house. I never feel like you are judging me. I always feel safe when I tell you things. I really believe you are my ride or die. If you mad, I’m mad and vice versa. I thank God for giving me such an amazing family… You are my immediate family, not extended because you are just as close in my heart as those other knuckleheads.

Cheray ~ I am so proud of you and what you’re doing in school. You have maintained your integrity and have not allowed yourself to be distracted. You are so proud of your school and who you are, I love that about you. I told you I want to be like you when I grow up…I mean it.

Rashaun ~ We all know if it wasn’t for you Dexter wouldn’t be nearly as cool as he is lol! You are a quiet storm, I see how committed you are to being a great man and I want you to know you are already great. You have managed to avoid so many trials that have trapped other young men. You continue to amaze me as you commit yourself to your future. I believe in you completely.

Cammy ~ You have made our transition home so easy. You looked out for Chi, protected him and covered him. I knew he would be fine because he had you. I thank you for helping me, be the best mommy I can be.

Briana ~ My breezy, my sissy…You remind me too much of myself, I guess that’s why I am always barking at you. You are a beautiful girl, but you are way more beautiful on the inside than you are on the outside…Take care of you first. Always choose you first, everything else second. Keep your head up, your time is coming.

Tiffani ~ Thank you so much for believing in me, for encouraging me to pursue my dreams. Your faith in me makes me feel like I can move mountains. I pray for you constantly, pray that you be reminded what a gift you are to all of us. I love you sis, no time apart can change that…. We will always find ourselves back to each other. That’s what true friends do..

Kourtney ~ You want to go to Benihana’s after this? You have been my favorite person to get to know since getting back. How did we even survive GLL? We should be able to walk across the stage and graduate. You’re a very smart girl, so focused and determined. I want you to know that our laugh breaks and Benihana escapes will be missed. Know that you are loved tremendously by the people in your life..Anyone who hasn’t been around has missed out on a person more special than they can even fathom.

Crystal ~ Just let me know when you want to go to South Dallas Cafe..I love how we always pick up right where we left off. You have been a constant in my life for years. It’s never an awkward silence with us. I am going to miss going to lunch with you. Laughing about old school memories..I will miss “this face”

Okay I know that was long and sappy and probably very uninteresting for anyone who doesn’t know me personally but these people have helped me find me again. I would be remiss if I did not mention my husband, my love…I know that for a lot of fans the lockout was the most anxious time of their life. But for me, it made me fall deeper in love with you. I was able to connect with you in ways I don’t think we have ever been connected before. Thank you for allowing me to come home and spend time with the people who make me, me. If not for them I wouldn’t be the woman you love. I am excited about the new life we have created. Everything we need, we have in each other. You are my best tackle, God blessed me with someone who I can not only love but also grow with. I cannot wait to for tomorrow, next week, next month, or next year because I know I will spend it as your wife.

Okay guys, that’s a wrap!

Comments

  1. Thank you sooo much for your straight honestly. When I was reading The Thank You Note blog, I started to realized that I have tendency to always see the tribulations that involves people in my life, but I realized there are some moments that I could express my gratitude. Thank you, as I will seek diligent to see the gratitude when my life involves friends and family. As of this day I will stop always focusing on the tribulation of the pain that comes with it.

  2. Dear Sister,
    It just kept moving in my heart. You truly do have an amazing family!
    As your daddy has been telling you about your potentials, as spiritual leader he will also show you how to reach them.
    God loves you!

  3. This is beautiful! You have an amazing family. I’m so elevated by your words filled with appreciation and gratitude. You are truly a blessing and source of hope for others!

    (WordPress wants to read my twitter so I am not submitting this through twitter.)

  4. That is beautiful! I pray that my children love me like you mentioned with your mom. After Christ there is no greater love than the love of family. God bless you and yours.

  5. Stacia Williams says:

    Every last letter was filled with so much love. Beautiful!

  6. shyt I’m in tears!!!Lol #oneday lol love ya huny!

  7. your comments are always inspiring, thought provoking encouraging and uplifting. you are a very talented, humble and smart woman. your comments help me to re-evaluate where i am as a person, mom,& wife keep them coming

  8. Sarah, you are indeed a “rich” woman – not because of any monetary gain but because of the value of your relationships! As I write this reply, the words of this old song come to mind: “God has smiled on me, He has set me free. God has smiled on me. He’s been good to me.” Well, it really sounds like God has smiled on you and set you free. He has been GOOD to you! May He continue to bless and you use you, and may you continue to bless others by sharing your testimony!

What Did You Think??

