Beautiful Scars

I make no apologies for who I am. I am feisty, shy, smart, silly, broken, whole, angry, energetic, tired, lovely, beautiful, boring, exciting ..I am a walking oxymoron and I make no apologies for who I am. My mistakes have made me who I am, my lifestyle has taught me even the most wayward person can change. I believe in love, I believe in the power of God, and I believe in change. And guess what? I make no apologies for who I am.

I’ve made all kinds of mistakes, some you may see, some you may never know. I have said things I wish I could take back, held on to anger and bitterness for far too long and yet I still make no apologies for who I am. I have loved the most hurt person back to health. Helped my dearest of friends in their times of needs. I have brought a smile to the face of people in their darkest times.I know who I am, I know my mistakes do not define me, my anger does not control me, my hope can move mountains, my joy is contagious and my love is overwhelming. You can try and label me, try and use your own small words to define me, but you won’t even get close…nowhere in the ballpark…. because who I am has nothing to do with what you think of me. I make no apologies for who I am.

My feet will be rooted in my own truth of who I am, not the thoughts or opinions of critics. I’m emotional, I love a good cry, cannot live without a good laugh, and anticipate my next great hug. One may call me a sweetheart, another may call me a jerk…Depending on what day it is they may both be right. And that’s okay.. Feel free to be you! Don’t apologize for being too soft or for coming off too hard. If you’re happy with who you are, no wait, if you LOVE, who you are why change for someone else? You answer to one person and one person only and that’s God.

You don’t have to pick a side, people are not just black or white, we are beautiful varying shades of gray. Don’t label me, don’t put me in a box. I love these beautiful scars life has given me, I won’t apologize when you see my scars, see my flaws or mistakes because they have all made me who I am. If you love me for who I am, my past shouldn’t change that.

Don’t change you for them…Change you for you…The people who care for you, will love you even more when you fully embrace who you are. The people who leave when you fall in love with yourself, don’t deserve to have you anyway. Don’t allow someone to place shame on you or your life…You mess up, you apologize, you fix it, and you move on… Don’t let the weight of your mistakes drown you. If you find yourself losing person after person, it may not be them “hating” on you, it could be you not loving you… Love produces love… It’s true everyone may not like you but guess what? That’s their problem not yours. That’s why when you don’t like me, it doesn’t matter because “aint no love lost.” That means you can walk away or you can stay but you can’t change me, loving me.

Don’t apologize for your beautiful scars, and don’t allow someone to keep picking at your wounds. You may not be where you want to be, you may not have progressed the way other’s felt you should have but this is your journey and yours alone. No one (not even you) knows the plan for your life, only God. You know what that means? No one can tell you “You should have been married by now” “You should have graduated earlier.” “You should’ve taken that job” “You should’ve bought that housse” or “You should have divorced her.” ….You know what they should have done? They should have minded their own business and focused on their life.

Get your circle of people who’s opinion you respect and trust and when adversity hits go to that sounding board. Don’t let random people speak into your life or speak into your future. You cannot answer to society and answer to your God. You can apologize for things, apologize for mistakes, but don’t you dare apologize for who you are!

The Bible says, “And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.”

The moment you become comfortable with yourself, your life will prosper. Your prosper may be in self-worth, may be in touching others lives, may be in riches or fames…but you cannot prosper until you plant your feet and refuse to be shifted by the ways of the world.

Comments

  1. Even so, you may is going to bring in more.

  2. I loved this!!! I wanna thank my sissy Kenya Rawls for sharing this with me! Im speechless!!

  3. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are incredible! Thanks!

  4. LaTonya Jones says:

    Well stated…Loving Yourself is the best diversion to the hurt inflicted by other’s and just through life’s circumstance….Like your Father Preached “Nothing Just Happen’s”, if we allow …”All Thing’s Work Out for Our Good”….Be Blessed Lady Sarah.

  5. This is liberating, rejuvenating and TRUTH in it’s most potent form; thank you for sharing!!!

  6. Great post. I use to worry alot about what people had to say and their opinions. I use to seek my answer/advise through people that truly had no understanding of me and what I truly was going through. I now know I should be seeking Gods face and not what other people say n think bc only God knows me and the plans he has for me. I use to call a friend about most of my problems n realize that I needed God to handle what I was going through bc I never did. When I did that they became offended n thought they were not the friend I needed in my life bc I didn’t seek them. My response to that was I wanted to try God first.
    Love that I don’t have to apologize for who I am for God said I am fearfully n wonderfully made, why should I let others define who God has made; flaws n all (ME). I can be me but knowing and doing all things in the (the fruits of the spirit).

    • Its most comforting when you discover yourself and fall in love. I hope that you continue to explore the depths of your being and produce nothing but greatness.

  7. Hello Dear Sister,
    I just didn’t get this – “refuse to be shifted by the ways of the world.”
    Can you explain this if you find some time?

    Otherwise it is good you reject destructive criticism, though I could say from 95% of my experience, that people don’t always stop with criticism when you reject them and tell them to mind their own business. Especially when you already served God at a level at which diabolic /I’m not speaking about average people/ consider you a threat and use their power and influence to raise persecution against you. Saul would have pinned David to the wall if he wouldn’t have fled.

    Guard what you have. You are such a blessing!

  8. Avemarie Williams says:

    As a pastor daughter myself I was inspired by your words today…. Printing this off today for my five brothers. I am sure they will feel like I feel ” You’ve taken the words and feelings right out of our mouth and heart”. Thank You so much for your openness and honesty.

  9. I haven’t even finished reading this yet but what a message!!! it is amazing and I am happy someone managed to tweet the link to this. If not, I would have lost something this good. Thank you very much for this note.

    God bless you (^_^)

  10. Awesome!

  11. Crystal McDaniel says:

    Girlfriend…. are you sure we aren’t sisters??? You sound just like me! I love this. It is absolutely true!

  12. Veronica says:

    Amen sister! My sentiments exactly (but you probably knew that already) ^_^

  13. OMG!!! Am so loving dis piece. Right words and right timing

  14. Happtwo says:

    This is uplifting to everyone, I will be emailing to all.

  15. You have me in tears right now. You wrote just how I feel in my life right now. May God continue to bless you so that you may be a blessing to others. Thank you so much.

  16. Houston says:

    My favorite sentence…”Don’t let random people speak into your life or speak into your future.” You are soooo right about this. God made each of us unique and to be anything other that what God made us to be is a misfortune to society. We need more tell it like it is in love, even if it hurts people in the world! Let God use you dear heart!

  17. Life changing moment.blessed,bless you!

  18. Powerful!! Thank you! In awe of God!

  19. Elizabeth says:

    i really needed this thank you it reaffirms all the growing pains i’m yet experiencing pray that my feet will get rooted, grounded and planted in who Christ makes me to be. Thanks again and GBU, great blog!!!

  20. “Father thank you for using this precious woman to inspire MY heart.Lord only you know how beautiful each and every one of our scars are in YOUR eyes, and only YOU know just how deeply each and every one of our wounds have hurt YOU. May YOU continue to use the beauty of this young womans hurt,heart,joy,and pain to lift up the countenance of YOUR great love for women (and men) all over the world,and may she never not feel the joy of YOUR most powerful “love” working in her, through her and all around her in Jesus name I pray AMEN”!!!
    THIS POST WAS SPIRTFILLED,SPIRT LED,AND ABSOLUTELY AWSOME…WOW! Thank you little/big sister in Christ.

  21. kimbenn1 says:

    You are helping me sis. Keep writing!!

  22. Thank you for this. I really needed to hear it. A word in due season…

  23. Oh my gosh! I absolutely love this!!!! Like seriously!!!

What Did You Think??

